Discover Your True Priorities with a Wheel of Life Exercise


What is a Wheel of Life Exercise?

A Wheel of Life exercise is a visual tool that helps you identify and prioritize the different areas of your life. It consists of creating a wheel with seven spokes, each representing one aspect of your life: career or profession, financial, social, physical health, mental well-being, relationships, and spiritual growth. By assigning a score to each spoke based on its level of satisfaction in your life, you can get an overall picture of how balanced or unbalanced your life currently is.

The Importance of Prioritizing Your Life

Prioritizing your life is essential for achieving happiness and fulfillment. When we neglect certain aspects of our lives, it can lead to feelings of dissatisfaction and imbalance. A Wheel of Life exercise allows you to take stock of all the important areas of your life and make sure they are getting equal attention and effort.

How to Create a personalized Wheel of Life

To create a personalized Wheel of Life, start by listing out the seven main areas of your life. Then, assign a score from 1 to 10 (with 1 being poor and 10 being excellent) to each area based on how satisfied you currently feel in that area. Once you have assigned scores to all seven areas, draw a circle and divide it into seven sections, each corresponding to one of the areas. Finally, connect the dots between the sections to form a complete wheel.

Understanding the Different Areas of Your Life

Each of the seven areas represented on the Wheel of Life has unique characteristics and importance in our lives. Here’s what they mean:

1. Career/Profession – This area represents your work life and how satisfying it is to you. It includes factors such as job satisfaction, advancement opportunities, and income.

2. Financial – This area refers to your finances and money management skills. It encompasses things like debt, savings, and investments.

3. Social – This area focuses on your relationships with friends and family members. It also covers the amount of support and encouragement you receive from others.

4. Physical Health – This area concerns your physical well-being and fitness levels. It includes factors such as diet, exercise, and medical care.

5. Mental Well-Being – This area deals with your emotional state and mental clarity. It involves factors such as stress levels, anxiety, and self-esteem.

6. Relationships – This area pertains to your romantic partnerships and other close connections. It includes factors such as communication, trust, and intimacy.

7. Spiritual Growth – This area relates to your sense of purpose and meaning in life. It includes factors such as personal values, beliefs, and goals.

Using a Wheel of Life for Self-Reflection and Growth

Once you have created your Wheel of Life, use it as a tool for self-reflection and growth. Review the scores you assigned to each area and consider whether they accurately reflect your current situation. If there are any areas where you are unhappy or unfulfilled, think about ways you could improve them. For example, if your career score is low, maybe it’s time to look for new job opportunities or pursue additional training. Remember, the goal of a Wheel of Life exercise isn’t just to assess where you stand now but also to inspire positive change and improvement in your life.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *